Home > Uncategorized > Building a home … figuratively

Building a home … figuratively

So we’ve officially been in SD for a month now, and after some pretty lonely and – let’s face it – boring stretches, I’m starting to feel like SD is sort of becoming my home. Not my home in the sense that it’s where I’m from or necessarily where I’ll spend my life – but home as in I no longer feel like just another visiter in California.

Lydia and I went Ocean Beach yesterday (and if her camera’s batteries hadn’t conveniently died I would have posted a picture below) and it was the first trip to the ocean where I did not feel the urgency of “taking it all in,” lest I never make it to the Pacific Ocean ever again. No, I’m quite positive I’ll be seeing the Pacific Ocean again. Probably this week, even. I still get excited when I see surfers riding the small waves along the shore, but I no longer feel the need to point it out to everyone within earshot. Yup, it’s California, and people surf here. I know I’m here to stay, at least for a while, and I’m at peace with that decision.

Also, I’ve found a job, albeit a temporary (but paying) writing internship. It’s amazing how important finding employment is in terms of bolstering my psyche, even though I haven’t started yet. (That will be Monday.) Tourists don’t visit an area to work, and finally finding employment surely lends itself to feeling a sense of home – and the peace of mind that comes with it.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 30, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Well said, dude. Local transportation and politics here may not be easy, but you’ve definitely –in my most humble opinion –chosen the best place to live. I still do what you were describing, RE: taking in the Ocean before it’s gone again. That’s a pretty sweet realization you got yourself there.

    I’ll probably move myself out here too.

    Keep writin’, bub.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

